A grassroots organization focused on the intelligent and sustainable development, preservation and revitalization of Tulsa.

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 29, 2024, 04:03:07 am
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Blitz USA on the verge of Bankruptcy  (Read 5755 times)
erfalf
City Father

« on: May 25, 2012, 12:01:05 pm »

Not sure where to put this, but on the news last night they were urging lawmakers to come to their rescue so...

Blitz USA produces around 75% of all portable gas cans. You know, the little red plastic cans and such. They are in the midst of several lawsuits where it is alleged the the cans exploded and caused injuries. All cases, the injured were in the process of pouring gasoline on a fire and the cans exploded (duh!). I'm no lawyer, but I recall a few things from my business law class in college. I don't understand how Blitz USA could be liable for these injuries. In my opinion, there would have to be something actually faulty with the product, which they are claiming. Regardless of whether or not the product had the necessary warnings on it (which Blitz claims they did), could a judge not just say that these people did something that is known to cause serious injuries regardless of the product holding the gasoline.

I don't know, this just seems wacky to me.

"Trust but Verify." - The Gipper
DTowner
City Father

« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2012, 12:56:09 pm »

Even if they prevail in litigaton and defeat these claims, they are still stuck paying the legal fees.  Second, there is always a danger that despite the warnings on the cans and despite the stupidity of the injured, the right sympathetic facts in front of the right jury can result in a giant damage award.
nathanm
T-Town Elder

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2012, 02:22:34 pm »