A grassroots organization focused on the intelligent and sustainable development, preservation and revitalization of Tulsa.

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 04, 2024, 10:37:14 pm
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What to do with Empty Big Box Lots  (Read 5096 times)
jtcrissup
« on: July 16, 2009, 01:52:40 pm »

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/artsandliving/style/2008/1116/bigbox/gallery.html?hpid=topnews

Interesting ideas...posting here to try and plant the seed in Tulsa if any real developers watch this board.  I am not a developer, just hate big box stores with big parking lots that are terribly underused.  Some of these ideas could be used not only in Big Box sites around Tulsa (Wally World has left us with a few, some have been reoccupied, but still a big inventory city wide) but in/around our downtown areas where affordable housing/mixed use development is needed and wanted.  Any thoughts out there?  Any developers wanting to better Tulsa AND make a buck, vs continue the march to mediocrity we have been on with our sprawling developments that are obsolete in 10-15 years?

Might be fun to list sites you would like to see something done on similar to what is shown in the artist renderings of this article.  One that jumps out in my mind is the NW corner of 71st/Memorial where the huge parking lot is never occupied and much of the big box that used to be a Builder's Sq is unoccupied. 

dbacks fan
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2009, 02:48:29 pm »

Heres one of my favorites for empty big box places.....

http://www.f1racefactory.com/
Breadburner
City Father

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2009, 02:52:34 pm »

Smart Car Salvage Yards.....

dbacks fan
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2009, 02:56:12 pm »

Indoor boat storage, indoor antique mall http://www.brassarmadillo.com/index.htm
joiei
City Father

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2009, 07:30:51 am »