A grassroots organization focused on the intelligent and sustainable development, preservation and revitalization of Tulsa.

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 10:49:04 pm
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Urban Design Scorecard attempt  (Read 4381 times)
cannon_fodder
All around good guy.
T-Town Elder

« on: April 21, 2017, 01:22:08 pm »

After enthusiastically discussing recent gatherings in Tulsa that encourage Strong Towns, walkability, and other urban concepts I found myself in a discussion with a builder who finally just asked "what counts as a good urban design."  I'm not an expert or even among the knowledgeable amateurs, I'm just a nerd who is interested in the subject, so just stammered a bit.  I think I conveyed a basic idea, but looking over development threads on here there is no common basis of commparison.  No overriding guidance. 

So I searched for something online and came up with plenty of for urban community and overall development grading, or specifically for larger residential projects, but nothing that would really give a basis of comparison for a discussion of developments in and around Tulsa.  Lets get a discussion started and see if we can't come up with something.

I've put a little but of thought into it and came up with a general list to try to start a discussion to end up with something we can use as a basis.

Here are the elements that I've come with so far, in no particular order (again, with a mind towards designs for urban spaces):

-   Pedestrian friendly
-   Fronted as much as allowed
-   Parking (I'd say generally as little as you can get away with)
-   Lot ratio allowance utilized (if  you can build on 75% of the lot, 4 stories tall, how much of that allowance did you use?)
-       Best use of the land/space
-   Fit with the area/neighborhood
-   Adds net value to the tax base
-   Architectural aesthetics
-   Quality of materials (“built to last”)