A grassroots organization focused on the intelligent and sustainable development, preservation and revitalization of Tulsa.

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 03:00:42 am
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Eight beers you must stop drinking IMMEDIATELY!  (Read 8883 times)
Ed W
City Father

« on: March 21, 2015, 08:13:54 am »

Yeah, right. I'm not a proponent of the whole GMOs-are-scary movement. So I'm more than a little leary of breathless pronouncements like this one, insisting that no one drink these products because they offend the writer's anti-GMO sensibilities.

Marshalls is not on the list though Guinness is.

http://themindunleashed.org/2014/05/8-beers-stop-drinking-immediately.html

Ed

May you live in interesting times.
dbacksfan 2.0
City Father

« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2015, 11:43:48 am »

There's only two on the list that I would drink, Guinness and Newcastle. Also not quite as paranoid as the writer.
sgrizzle
Kung Fu Treachery
T-Town Elder

Inconceivable!

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2015, 09:14:33 pm »

*Phew* I'm safe

(I don't drink)
saintnicster
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2015, 09:16:44 pm »

Lol.  Summary of the list - "don't drink anything distributed nationally"
Conan71
Recovering Republican
T-Town Elder

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2015, 10:19:48 am »

With the exception of the occasional Newcastle or Guinness, I never drink any of the beers on the list.  Not sure why Newcastle would use artificial color.  To get color in beer you use barley which has been roasted to varying degrees of darkness.  Once high fructose corn syrup has been converted to alcohol is it still quite as bad for you?

Fish bladder (insignglass) has been used for centuries to clarify beer, so has gelatin. My understanding is the beechwood that Bud uses to age it’s beers is used to help clarify the beer.  Apparently spent yeast will cling to it.